Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Editorial content is not deleted immediately. It is first marked for deletion. The deletion happens when the change is published. This provides an opportunity to restore content deleted in error. If workflow is enabled the deletion may be delayed until approved.

The principles and procedures in this section apply to all editorial content, including pages, assets, contacts, categories and any similar content type made available by a content app.

Deleting

(warning) When content is deleted it is permanently removed from both instances and cannot be restored.

To delete content:

  1. Select the item and click Delete.
  2. Confirm the deletion in the dialog.
  3. The item is marked for deletion and the trash can icon renders next to the name. At this point in time:
    1. A version is created.
    2. You can still restore the item. 
  4. Click Publish deletion to complete the deletion process.
    1. If workflow is enabled the item is sent to a publisher for approval.
    2. If workflow is not enabled, the item is removed from the tree.

Deleting multiple items

You can delete multiple items simultaneously by checking them and executing the Delete action once.

Content dependencies

In the Enterprise Edition the confirmation dialog includes a list of of dependent pages to warn editors of unforeseen consequences of the deletion. This functionality is provided by the Content Dependencies module. Dependent pages include child pages and pages that are linked through internal teaser components.

Restoring

The Restore previous version action restores an item to the state it had before deletion. You can only restore items that are marked for deletion . Once the deletion has been published you can no longer restore the item. 

Recursive restore

In the Pages app, the restore action restores the whole subtree (recursively). This allows you to recover quickly if you delete a page and its children by accident. Recursive deletion is configured by default only in the Pages app. Other apps restore only the selected item.

To use reuse the recursive restore action in your app, set the class property to info.magnolia.ui.contentapp.browser.action.RestoreItemPreviousVersionActionDefinition.

ExampleDialog action definition for a recursive restore action

Node nameValue

 restorePreviousVersion

 

 class

info.magnolia.ui.contentapp.browser.action.RestoreItemPreviousVersionActionDefinition

 icon

icon-undo

 parentNodeTypeOnly

false

Properties:

class

required

For recursive restore use info.magnolia.ui.contentapp.browser.action.RestoreItemPreviousVersionActionDefinition.

parentNodeTypeOnly

optional, default is false

When false, the action restores all descendants of a parent node whose type is in the mgnl namespace. This is the most common use case. For example, in the Assets app you would want to restore a folder and the assets it contained. When true, the action restores all descendants whose node type is the same as the parent node's. This is used in the Pages app where the action restores only pages, not their areas and components.

  • No labels