Types of users
People who work on site content such as authors, editors and publishers.
Administrative accounts with permissions to configure Magnolia, install new modules and create new templates, for example.
End users or visitors of the site. They can be registered through the. Registering visitors allows you to provide them with personalized content such as members-only sections of the site, newsletters and mailing lists.
Editing a user profile
Edit user preferences in the Security app.
A logged-in user can set their own preferences by clicking the Edit user profile action in the top right corner.
Editing user profiles
As a system user, you can edit user profiles in the Security app (except for the timezone preference).
Users can edit their own profile settings, including language and timezone preferences, by clicking the Edit user profile action in the top right corner.
The timezone set in the user preferences is used in the Magnolia apps.
Magnolia continues to record events such as page creation using the host server time. The recorded time is converted and displayed in the user's preferred time zone.
The user must log out and log back in again to see the updated timezone information in Magnolia.
In Magnolia, users are organized as follows:
- Users can have both roles and groups.
- Groups can have groups and roles.
- Roles can have only Access Control Lists (ACLs).
In a small site you can manage users and groups in Magnolia. On a larger site (hundreds of users), it is better to manage users and groups in an enterprise-grade user management infrastructure such as Microsoft Active Directory. You would define roles and ACLs in Magnolia but manage users and groups in the external system.
Get a list of all permissions assigned to a user or group in the Tools tab of the Security app.
Automatic lockout is a security precaution that prevents users from accessing Magnolia after a number of failed login attempts.
By default, the lockout is triggered, and the account is automatically disabled by a minimum of
N+1 failed login attempts. The number of failed attempts is configurable. When a non-existent username is entered lockout does not occur as the account does not exist. The lockout applies to system users and admin users but does not affect public users. After lockout, an administrator can re-enable the user account by checking the Enabled box in the user profile. When a lockout occurs, this checkbox is cleared.
The number of failed login attempts
N that will trigger lockout is configurable using the property
maxFailedLoginAttempts at Configuration >
/admin. Different values may be set for Users and Systems Users.
optional , default is
Allows duplicate usernames in different realms. Only applicable to
A class that implements the UserManager interface.
optional , default is
Allows to disable caching if set to
Realm name corresponding to JAAS login configuration.