Magnolia 4.5 reached end of life on June 30, 2016. This branch is no longer supported, see End-of-life policy.

Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Magnolia ships with activation and deactivation (deletion) approval workflows by default. These are provided by the Workflow module. Disabling the workflow may be appropriate for a simple site workforce where there are no separate editor and publisher roles. When the approval workflow is disabled, content will be published to public instances immediately when activation is launched.

Removing the Workflow module disables all workflows, not only the content approval workflow. Don't remove the module if you have custom workflows used for some other purpose.

Not-yet-installed system

If you did not install the Magnolia instance yet, choose this option. Disabling workflow involves removing the Workflow module .jar file.

To disable workflow before installing Magnolia:

  1. Extract the installation bundle using the installer or unpack it manually.
  2. Before you start the system, remove magnolia-module-workflow.jar file from all instances. The .jar file is in /<CATALINA_HOME>/webapps/<contextPath>/WEB-INF/lib directory.
  3. Start Magnolia and complete the installation and Web Update.

Already-installed system

If you already installed Magnolia and want to disable workflow after the fact, choose this option.

Disable activation workflow

To disable activation workflow on an existing, already-installed and bootstrapped Magnolia instance:

  1. Go to Configuration > modules/adminInterface/commands/website.
  2. Replace the activate command chain with a single class data node and set its value to info.magnolia.module.admininterface.commands.ActivationCommand.

The command should look like the default activate commmand in modules/adminInterface/commands/default/activate which simply activates content immediately without starting an approval workflow.

Disable deactivation workflow

To disable deactivation (deletion) workflow on an existing, already-installed and bootstrapped Magnolia instance:

  1. Go to Configuration > modules/adminInterface/commands/website.
  2. Replace the deactivate command chain with a single class data node.

It should look like the default deactivate commmand in modules/adminInterface/commands/default/deactivate which deactivates content immediately without starting an approval workflow.

  • No labels