Magnolia 4.5 reached end of life on June 30, 2016. This branch is no longer supported, see End-of-life policy.

Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Users with similar privileges are grouped together. The purpose of a group is to define settings for the group as whole rather than each individual user. Permissions that apply to the group are inherited by its users.

By assigning a role to a group, all users in the group will inherit the permissions granted to the role. You do not have to add the users to the role individually.

You can get a list of all permissions assigned to a user or group using the  Permissions list tool.

Creating groups

  1. Click Security > Groups.
  2. Click New Group in the toolbar.
    A new group named "untitled" is added to the list.
  3. Double-click the word "untitled" and type the group's name, then press ENTER.
  4. Select the new group and click Edit group in the toolbar.
    The Edit Group dialog is displayed.
  5. Fill in the group's details:
    • Full name
    • Description. Purpose of the group plus some information for other users who have permissions to edit this group.
  6. Groups: Click Choose and attach the group to another group. Groups can be nested.
  7. Roles: Click Choose and attach a role to the group.
  8. Optional: To attach to more groups or roles, click Add and browse again. 

Editing groups

  1. Click Security > Groups.
  2. Select the group you want to edit.
  3. Double-click the icon of the group you want to edit. 
  4. Edit the group details.
  5. Click Save.

Deleting groups

  1. Click Security > Groups.
  2. Select the group you want to delete.
  3. Right-click the icon of the group and select Delete group.
  4. Click OK in the confirmation dialog.
  • No labels