Magnolia 4.5 reached end of life on June 30, 2016. This branch is no longer supported, see End-of-life policy.
This section explains how to upload and manage files in the document management system (DMS).
Assets uploaded into the document management system are stored in the
dms workspace. This workspace is part of the
magnolia repository. It has a hierarchical tree structure for organizing files into folders. See the technical guide on content storage and structure.
AdminCentral displays the contents of the
dms workspace in a tree with the following columns:
To create a folder:
To upload a file:
If you are uploading multiple files, the best practice is to zip them. The files contained in the zip are extracted into the DMS.
Asset metadata describes properties such as creation date and copyright holder. You can enter metadata when the asset is uploaded into the DMS or later. The metadata fields provided in the Edit dialog comply with the Dublin Core metadata standards and allow for a substantial amount of information for each asset. Metadata is indexed for search. Page components such as Text & Image display the metadata on the page when they reference the asset.
/dms-static/<UUID>/<URL.extension>. UUID is a unique identifier per asset. When a page component refers to an asset, it stores the UUID, meaning editors can move or rename assets without breaking links in the DMS.
The metadata properties are stored in the
dms workspace along with the actual asset file but you cannot see them in the abstracted view that Documents menu in AdminCentral provides. However, you can see them if you configure a JCR browser to display the
dms workspace. The screenshot below shows the
abstract-tiles-red.jpg image and its metadata properties when viewed in a JCR Browser.
alt attribute of the
img tag specifies alternative text for an image when that image cannot be displayed on a page. The standard rule is to use concise text that serves the same function as the image. The Standard Templating Kit (STK) offer multiple possibilities for setting alt attributes. Where no specific alt attribute is set by an editor, the STK uses either the title information or other metadata to derive an alt attribute. It achieves this by working through a chain of properties.
The following tables show how alt values are derived for areas and components. For example, the
stkPromo component first looks for an alt text in the Title field in the Promo edit dialog. If it doesn't find a value, it takes the title of the target page. If the target page does not have a title either, then the component uses the name of the target page.
|Area or component||Alt value chain|
Upload multiple files individually or as a single zip file containing multiple files.
To upload multiple files in zip format:
If the structure of the zip file is identical to an existing folder structure in Admin Central, the files will be extracted into the existing folders. Existing files that have the same name as a file in the zip will be overwritten.
To edit file properties:
File content cannot be edited in the DMS. The file needs to be downloaded, edited on your computer, and then uploaded back into the DMS.
To download a file:
You can also download a file in the Edit dialog:
DMS assets are not deleted immediately. The asset is first marked for deletion. The actual deletion occurs when the change is activated. This provides an opportunity to restore assets that were deleted in error. This is the same behavior as in deleting pages.
Like activation and de-activation, asset deletion is subject to a Workflow process only if the Workflow module is installed and a workflow is configured for deletion. The Workflow module is installed by default. Deletion requests are sent to the
group-publishers inbox for approval.
Changes to folders and files are subject to versioning and workflow. When you delete a file it will be marked for deletion. The actual deletion occurs when you activate the change. This provides the opportunity to restore the files prior to activation. As with activating and deactivating, where workflow is in place deletion activation requests are sent to the appropriate inbox for approval.
Deletion and de-activation have different consequences. When an asset is de-activated it remains available on the author instance for future use. When an asset is deleted it is permanently removed from both instances.
To delete a folder or file:
Note the following about deleting assets:
The warning dialog that appears when you try to delete a file lists the pages in Website that link to the file. For more information see the Content Dependencies module documentation.
Folders and files marked for deletion can only be restored prior to activating the deletion. When a file or folder is marked for deletion a new version is created automatically to facilitate restoration.
To restore a folder or file marked for deletion:
The search box in the bottom right corner of AdminCentral provides a simple search across DMS content. The title, URL, metadata and content of documents are indexed for search. General searching rules are covered in AdminCentral.
The results display in the search work
The gray panel to the right of the search results provides grouping and sorting.
Use the browser Back button to switch between search results and normal DMS view.
Is there any way to upload a zip that would replace the files that have the same name?
Currently the only way to update images is one by one, because deleting the folder and uploading a new zip replaces all the UUID (therefore the website links are lost), and uploading a zip when an image with the same name exists duplicates it.
So to modify images and keep the UUID link, the only way is doing it one by one.