Magnolia 4.5 reached end of life on June 30, 2016. This branch is no longer supported, see End-of-life policy.

Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Versioning is an Enterprise Edition feature. Versioning functionality is useful in many instances, for example when you want to display a different version of a page for a defined period, or if you simply decide that you prefer a previous version. Versions are created on activation and de-activation in Website, and on activation only in Documents and Data. Versions are automatically saved and can be reverted to as necessary. By default up to 10 versions are stored, but this number is configurable. See Version configuration.

In both editions versions are also created in Website and Documents for the purposes of restoring pages and files prior to deletion. See deleting and restoring pages.

Viewing a version

To access versions:

  1. Select the node.
  2. Click Versions in the context menu.
  3. The versions dialog opens.

In the versions dialog:

  • Columns are included for the node name, date, user and comment.
  • The Comment column contains the comment included in activation or de-activation workflow request, or automatically generated content in the case of deletions and restorations. Version comments are not applicable in Data.
  • The gray panel on the right offers grouping and sorting options to the second level. Click User or Date to group and sort the results.
  • Two commands are available in all areas: Click:
    • Show to preview a page or open the DMS or Data Edit dialog. Pages display in the browser, but editing functionality is disabled.
    • Restore to restore the selected version as the current version.

  • In Website there are two additional commands. Click:
    • Compare with current to compare the selected version with the current version.
    • Compare with previous to compare the selected version with the prior version.

Compare with current and Compare with previous open the page in the browser and the differences between the versions are highlighted with the redlining feature. Additions are marked in green and deletions in red.

For more information about the redlining feature see the Diff module documentation and watch this video.

Command chain

Versions are created when the versions command is triggered. This command is included in the:

  • activate command chain in the website, dms and data workspaces.
  • deactivate command chain in the website workspace.

A new version of the content is created and added to the version file.

You will find similar configurations at:

  • modules/dms/commands/dms/activate/version.
  • modules/data/commands/data/activate/version.

Version configuration

The number of versions stored is configured in /modules/server/version.

By default the maximum number of versions kept is set to 10. To change this value sign in as a user with access to configuration and set the maxVersionIndex property to the desired value.
Previous versions created before setting new maximum version index will not be affected until a new version is created. For example, if node ‘A' has 10 versions and you change the max version index to 2, you will still see all 10 versions until the next versioning occurs. Once node 'A' is versioned again, all previous 9 versions will be removed.

  • No labels