Magnolia 6.0 reached end of life on June 26, 2019. This branch is no longer supported, see End-of-life policy.
Editorial content is not deleted immediately. It is first marked for deletion. The deletion happens when the change is published. This provides an opportunity to restore content deleted in error. If workflow is enabled the deletion may be delayed until approved.
The principles and procedures in this section apply to all editorial content, including pages, assets, contacts, categories and any similar content type made available by a content app.
When content is deleted it is permanently removed from both instances and cannot be restored.
To delete content:
You can delete multiple items simultaneously by checking them and executing the Delete action once.
In the Enterprise Edition the confirmation dialog includes a list of of dependent pages to warn editors of unforeseen consequences of the deletion. This functionality is provided by the Content Dependencies module. Dependent pages include child pages and pages that are linked through internal teaser components.
The Restore previous version action restores an item to the state it had before deletion. You can only restore items that are marked for deletion . Once the deletion has been published you can no longer restore the item.
In the Pages app, the restore action restores the whole subtree (recursively). This allows you to recover quickly if you delete a page and its children by accident. Recursive deletion is configured by default only in the Pages app. Other apps restore only the selected item.
To use reuse the recursive restore action in your app, set the
class property to
Example: Dialog action definition for a recursive restore action
For recursive restore use
optional, default is